Skip to content

The Flow

June 28, 2017

Lately, life has been extremely chaotic for me. Not so much in a negative sense, but situations keep spiraling into different directions at time warp speed. The energy in and of itself is exhilarating at times, I will admit. Maybe it’s the rush of adrenalin that surges through my blood stream making its way to my dome, releasing those magical endorphins that produces my natural high. I know it sounds odd, and I am not saying that I thrive on chaos nor am I am advocate to be in a state of constant influx . . . but life is like that. So, I decided I can either roll with the flow or let the chaos roll over me.

The latter is not an option for me. Therefore, I chose to submerge myself fully into this body of water we call life and become drenched in all it must offer me, throw at me, never taking from me but always adding to me. I am learning to feel the energy of dark matter. Dark matter is not just in the outer reaches of space, yet it is everywhere on earth filling in the nooks and crannies of this realm as well. I intuit the dark matter as I sit at my dining room table to eat a meal over candlelight and the only other two guests invited are my thoughts and dark matter. This wonderfully strange matter allows me to experience sort of an out-of-body experience giving way to a deeper connection with my creator.

My creator. Wow. Isn’t that what this thing called life with all its chaos and all its synchronicities is all about? Yes, it is. Our creator is . . . dark matter. Dark matter is the flow. I know without knowing because I accept the energy of the chaos and the rapid pace that my life is moving at. To go against the grain as they say, or to swim incongruently with the tide is madness. Madness is what takes us to the brink of destruction and ruin, even on a small-scale with our own little lives. I say little not to offend, but to show how insignificant our personal chaos is when we compare it to what is going on in the world on a grander scale. As I sit in front of this computer, feeling the warmth of the sun from the window, hearing the soft click, click, click as my nails hit the keys, I am transformed into a moment of solitude, before this day can deliver any chaos. I am one with the energy engulfing me . . . co-creating with the flow.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

