Skip to content

Tried and True

March 20, 2017

I have been a pesco-vegetarian (a vegetarian that eats fish and seafood) for the past six months. My body has undergone a major transformation from the inside- out.  At first, there was no real huge difference. The changes were subtle, like a sense of feeling lighter and much improved digestion and elimination.

Then came the weight loss, or what I call, the body simply going back to its natural size. Our natural size is where we should be in body mass by consuming clean foods as opposed to all the fast food and harsh GMO’s we consume, which is totally not the way nature intended for us as humans to eat.

I work out at least three to four times per week, but even with the working out and the vegetarian lifestyle, I was still feeling a bit bloated and it showed in my face and hands.

My face looked puffy to me, although my body was shrinking.  So I decided to do an experiment on myself.  I started to increase my water intake and I totally eliminated salt from my diet for two weeks.  Within just one week, I noticed that my waistline shrank.  After two weeks, the puffiness in my face and hands was a minimal.

I then went into overdrive on my system.  I did some research online and found some natural diuretics with other amazing health benefits like cranberry juice. http://bembu.com/diuretic-foods

The cranberry juice seem to attack the extra water retention in my body by flushing out all impurities in my blood stream and my kidneys. This would make sense, because it is a known fact that cranberry juice is a natural remedy in the prevention of urinary tract infections.  Cranberry juice attacks plaque and bacteria in certain areas of the body.  The next ingredient I added to my diet regimen is apple cider vinegar.  I used to drink apple cider vinegar years ago, and somehow, I fell off the wagon, so to speak.

I really should have stayed with it, because it is chock full of healthful benefits, for example it lowers HDL/LDL cholesterol, detoxes the liver and it is ideal for weight loss.

https://authoritynutrition.com/6-proven-health-benefits-of-apple-cider-vinegar/.

I have trained myself to drink two tablespoons every morning, chasing it down with a half a glass of cranberry juice.  This method, over the past six months was just the overhaul my body needed to help jump start my weight loss goal.  I wanted to drop two pants sizes by spring.  I am happy to say that I am now at a perfect size 8 and my goal of a size 7 is knocking on springs door!

Keep in mind, that a person must be consistent with this method, keep eating clean and keep on keeping on with your workouts.  I have sacrificed a great deal in the past six months  as it has been an uphill battle for me simultaneously dealing with a back injury, making it almost impossible on some days to even work out. Yet and still I rise! I persevered through my back pain and kept eating right and working it out in the gym. I am happy to share my true methods with the world and I know that you will be pleased as well . . . give them a try!

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

