Skip to content

Being an Employee VS Owning Your Own Business

February 8, 2017

Being an entrepreneur is not for the faint at heart, as it can definitely be both an investing and sobering experience.

A friend of mine made the decision to leave her lucrative position as an IT professional and start an online consulting business. Don’t get me wrong: this was not a willy-nilly decision and she did her homework. She is very talented and I would even consider her to be a master-networker. After making this commitment for about eight months, she decided that being a full-time business owner was not for her. For sure, eight months is not very long, but when speaking to her about why she wanted to transition back to being an employee, these were some of the comments that she made:

  • “When employers would “brag” about their benefit’s package, I would think to myself – Okay, you are supposed to offer health insurance, dental insurance, or what have you, I never realized that having health insurance was truly a benefit.”
  • “I never thought I would have to work so hard. If I am not consistently working to promote my business, I am not making money.”
  • “Owning my own business is not as easy as I thought it would be. What I learned is that I can’t be a full-time business owner. Being a part-time business owner is better for me, because I need to rely on a consistent check.”

Although my friend had the best intentions, from my experience, there were a few things that she did not consider; her employee work ethics were very similar to her business-owner work ethics. So let me explain:

  • Accountability – If you are a person who needs the motivation of a boss to hold you accountable for progress, then owning your own business may not be for you.
  • Work-Time – If you prefer to clock in at a certain time and clock out by a certain time, you may want to reconsider being an entrepreneur.
  • Motivator – If you are typically not the motivator of the group, but the one who needs to be motivated, business ownership may not be for you.
  • Consistency – If you prefer to get paid every week or bi-weekly on the same day of the week, heads up, think about transitioning completely to a full-time business owner—this may not be your calling.
  • People Manager – If you have a hard time accepting criticism and working with diverse personality types, it is imperative that you reflect on why you feel entrepreneurship is for you.

Now, do not get me wrong: if it is your dream to own your own business, I am definitely not trying to discourse your vision. My goal is to promote self-awareness.

So moving forward, it is my advice that you not only do your due diligence regarding the type of business that you want to own, but it is just as critical to perform a self-reflection before you decide to make that leap. I transitioned to owning my own business after working at the same health care organization for 25 years. Since leaving my job approximately three years ago, I have had my ups and my downs as a business owner, but what I can say for sure is that the experience has made me empowered and humbled to be able to build my new legacy.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

