Skip to content

Release and Relax

November 25, 2016

I have been struggling lately with severe back pain. I have what is called piriformis syndrome. www.spine-heatlh.com/conditions/sciatica.

This pain can be mild to excruciating, so I have been dealing with all levels of pain on a broad spectrum since May.  At first, everyone told me the chiropractor was the answer.  The chiropractic visits do help, but I am finding that deep tissue massage is proving to be more effective and much more relaxing.

I have been going to a quaint little massage oasis in Bay Shore mall, and I can’t tell  you how happy I am that a friend recommended this to me. The soft oriental music that is piped in through the pink satin curtains to divide the massage rooms further sets the relaxing tone for this experience.  From the moment you enter the establishment, you can literally feel pressure and anxiety lift from your mind.

Your body then becomes engaged as you choose your cure be it: chair massage, foot reflexology, traditional massage or hot stone therapy massage. I have only gone twice, and each time I have had the hot stone therapy massage, which makes me feel absolutely euphoric!  The hot stones are placed in full alignment from the neck, elongated down the spine.  As the soothing warmth from the flat stones penetrate deep into the spinal tissue, the technician is preparing her warm, scented oils that are then massaged into the body.

When I tell you that every single area of your neck and back are massaged, trust me that they leave no stone unturned, no pun intended.  This is the most thorough deep tissue massage that I have ever had.  What I truly love about this experience is that they ask you what areas are giving you the greatest pain, as in my case the piriformis muscle and they work on this area with adept attentiveness. I kid you not, I am pain-free and walking straight as an arrow when I leave feeling much better for having gone.

If you are in need of some R&R for your sore back, or if you simply need to de-stress the worries of the work week, then I highly recommend a therapeutic deep tissue massage.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

