Skip to content

Healthy Transition

October 6, 2016

For the most part, you could really say I am somewhat of a vegetarian. I don’t eat pork or red meat. I really eat more fish than I do chicken, so I think the transition for me would not be complicated at all. My father gave up eating all meat about two months ago. He was not really planning on converting to a vegetarian diet; he said it just sort of made sense after a while, along with avid research on the reasons to convert. My dad was 220 pounds (he is 6’1″) 60 days ago, and now he is 200 pounds.  This he achieved by eating a strict vegetarian diet and with little to no exercise involved.

According to ASK DR SEARS:  a strict vegetarian diet, a vegan, avoids all foods of animal origin, including meat, poultry, fish, dairy products and eggs. Weight loss was not my dad’s goal, he was fine with his weight at his height, but because he has sleep apnea, his doctor said that if he lost a few pounds this would aid in better sleep habits. I would say my dad more than achieved his goal, because his sleep apnea has improved and he has a new slender frame to boot. Not bad for two months of strict, clean eating.

My dad went on to tell me about how the body becomes more alkalized, and supreme alkalinity is like nothing short of mental and physical nirvana. The body and mind become one, operating at  full peak capacity, the way that God intended us to all function in the first place. We went to the health food store and he introduced me to healthy snacks made from organic spelt, which are extremely tasty, quite to my surprise. I also bought spelt/sprouted bread which I have been eating for the last four days and let me tell you, I have no belly bloat like I would get from eating other types of bread. This is because spelt is a grain that dates back 9,000 years, according to The Spelt Bakers website (thespeltbacker.ca). 

Unlike wheat, the vital substances of spelt are found in the inner kernel of the grain.  This nutty flavored grain is also referenced in the bible under Ezekiel 4:9—check it out for yourself. Spelt is also high in water solubility and here are a few health benefits:  aids relaxation, memory improvement,  better digestive function, lowers cholesterol, as well as stress and depression reduction.  Spelt bread taste wonderful too, and I feel fuller longer well into the afternoon when I eat it for breakfast.  Vegetarians that like dairy products are called Lacto-vegetarians and include eggs.  Pesco-vegetarians eat fish, dairy products, and eggs, along with plant food. I have not had any meat in the past five days and I am feeling pretty good. I really don’t miss chicken and turkey products as much as I thought I would, so I think my transition to becoming a vegetarian is in full swing. From my research, I am certain I will  transition with ease into a Pesco-vegetarian. I am really quite excited about the new lifestyle change!

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

