Skip to content

Salt of the Earth

August 10, 2016

Yes, I prefer the pink stuff. I actually converted about two years ago, and I am hooked. For as far back as I can remember, I have had a love-hate relationship with salt. I love how it flavors my food, but I despise how it makes me retain fluid.

Water retention has been my issue for most of my adult life, until a friend of mine enlighten me several years back that my consistent bloating was probably due to my idolized salt intake. So to test her theory, I refrained from adding any idolized salt to my foods for about one week. The results were amazing. I must have lost about five pounds. This outcome inspired me to make a conscious lifestyle change with my eating habits as it pertained to idolized salt.

I immediately replaced my idolized salt with a salt substitute—Mrs. Dash and the No Salt brand (potassium.) I continued this path for many years up until about two years ago when I accidentally discovered the pink stuff—Himalayan salt. I call it the “pink stuff” because this unprocessed crystal has a light pink hue.

According to Wikipedia, “Himalayan salt is rock salt or halite from a mine in the Punjab region of Pakistan.” My first experience with Himalayan salt was miraculous. When applying it to my food, smaller servings were needed in comparison to idolized salt and the flavor of Himalayan salt amplified my meals. But the true magic of this “white gold,” which it is called in the Himalayas are its health benefits.

In an article written by Doctor of Chiropractic Edward Group, The Benefits of Himalayan Salt (www.GlobalHealingCenter.com,) he explains that “Himalayan salt contains the same 84 natural minerals and elements found in the human body. This form of salt has been . . . maturing over the past 250 million years under intense tectonic pressure, creating an environment of zero exposure to toxins and impurities.” The article went on to say that Himalayan salt’s unique cellular structure allows it to store vibrational energy…and its minerals are tiny enough for our cells to easily absorb.”

I also learned through my research on www.GlobalHealingCenter.com that some of the potential health benefits of using natural Himalayan Crystal Salt could include:

  • Controlling the water levels within the body, regulating them for proper functioning (I can attest to this benefit)
  • Promoting stable pH balance in the cells, including the brain.
  • Encouraging excellent blood sugar health.
  • Aiding in reducing the common signs of aging.
  • Promoting cellular hydroelectric energy creation.
  • Promoting the increase absorption capacities of food elements within the intestinal tract
  • Aiding vascular health
  • Supporting healthy respiratory function
  • Lowering incidence of sinus problems, and promoting over-all sinus health.
  • Reducing cramps
  • Increasing bone strength
  • Naturally promoting healthy sleep patterns
  • Creating a healthy libido
  • Circulator support
  • Promotes kidney and gall bladder health when compared to common chemically-treated salt

So you might be thinking, how does this differ from table salt? I learned that regular table salt has been treated with chemicals and sugar is even added to this commonly used spice. Although salt is necessary for our bodies, if consumed in the chemical form of table salt, it can be dangerous. Ordinary table salt does not possess any nutritional value, as it is processed and the body deciphers it as toxic (www.GlobalHealthCenter.com.)

Referencing back to my experience with Himalayan salt, I no longer suffer from chronic water retention (just as long as I don’t eat three slices of pizza.) I also believe that it has regulated my pH, because I endured an unbalanced pH for many years; and I have noticed that the symptoms that at one time were a daily annoyance, are far and few between.

Now you may be wondering, ‘where I can get this miracle rock and how much does it cost?’ My first purchase was from a local chain store where I bought a 26-ounce bag, on sale for about $6. I had a hard time finding that amount for that price on a consistent basis, so I currently order my Himalayan salt on-line. I normally purchase three bags at one time for about $25, which lasted my extended family of six for over one year. This is also after I shared some of the salt with other family, as I truly want others to become familiar with this life changing seasoning.

I am convinced that Himalayan salt is the real deal. I encourage you to continue your edifying path pertaining to the use of Himalayan salt, and to definitely try it for yourself. I then look forward to your testimony of how this salt-of-the-earth bestowed a gift in your life.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

