Skip to content

Breaking Bad Habits

August 3, 2016

What really constitutes a bad habit?  This varies from person to person—this we all know. It is odd how what I might consider to be a bad habit, my father might not feel the same. Sometimes, I think there is no such thing as a bad habit, only the perception of how the things we do are viewed by society.

By far, I am not a lazy person.  However, I tend to not like folding laundry right away. I fold it, just not as soon as it comes out of the dryer. It does not sit for weeks, but I am notorious for it sitting for a day or two. I guess someone else would see this as a bad habit of mine, but I just see it as something else in the household always takes priority over folding laundry for me. Like making sure there are no dishes left in my sink at the end of the day as well as maintaining a spotless bathroom. I am not what you would call a late sleeper either.  I am up by 6 a.m. through the work week, but what I call sleeping in on a day off or the weekend is no longer than 7:30 a.m.  This might really irritate others and they could see this as a bad habit of mine that I do not sleep longer when I have down time. I would rather be up getting a jump on my day’s tasks.  I on the other hand, feel that sleeping until noon is extremely non-productive and ranks high on my list as being a habit that needs to be broken. Once again, it is all a matter of opinion and really not a judgement.

All in all, I am trying to be less critical of myself and others because life is really too short to sweat the small stuff, as the cliché goes.  At the same time, I am more mindful of what I do and things that I see as a bad habit for myself . . . well, I am a work-in-progress and will try to get that laundry folded before the heat of the dryer cools off.

Ultimately, breaking bad habits must start with self.

 

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a comment