Skip to content

Oil and Water – Should You Add Essential Oils to Your Water?

July 22, 2016

Hello everyone! I am a little delayed with this response, but I am excited to provide my research results.

Several weeks ago, one of my readers asked if it is ok to add essential oils to water. Now, before I go into my findings, I want to share my personal experience with using essential oils.

I am an essential oil fan. I believe in the healing properties that these oils generate. I have been using essential oils on a consistent basis for about four years. Yes, I will admit that good quality essential oils are not that cheap. For example, I normally will pay about $18.50 for a 10 ml roll-on bottle of an oil blend that I use for back pain – verses taking over-the-counter medications. I prefer a more natural topical solution. I also purchase an essential oil that can be ingested. This one I add a severing (one or two drops) to my water, as this oil blend works to increase my metabolism—and it makes my water taste more interesting. I can honestly say that I have tried and true results from my essential oil usage, which is why I am pro essential oils.

With that said, now let’s talk about some of my discoveries. There is data that speaks to why essential oils should not be ingested. According to www.thebarefootdragonfly – “Friends Don’t Let Friends Drink Essential Oils,” essential oils are highly concentrated volatile compounds extracted from whole or parts of plants: tree resins, flowering shrubs, peels or citrus fruits, seeds, grasses and so forth…[the] levels of concentrations a single drop in a glass of water could be the equivalent of drinking boxes of tea made from the same herb. [The question is then posed,] “Would you drink 30 tea bags of chamomile in a day? Of course you wouldn’t! So, why would you drink a drop of the essential oil?”

This article from www.thebarefootdragonfly continues on to say that money is the root of the essential oil hoopla. But the real question that I think you would like to know, is ingesting essential oils safe? Well, the article mentioned that “the first signs of distress from this method are mouth and throat irritations. They’ve been damaged by this concentrated plant oil and repeated offenses.”

So, is there anyway essential oils can be ingested by mouth safely? Yes! The article speaks to the digestible transport to get the oil from your mouth to the digestive system, and then to the blood stream (www.thebarefootdragonfly.) However, advanced training is required. One could find these professionals as a clinical aroma therapists, and a few nurses and doctors who practice holistic remedies.

I have only touched on the basics about the cons concerning essential oil use, but like I mentioned earlier, I am an essential oil fan. What I have learned from my research regarding whether it is safe to add essential oils to water or not, is that over time, excessive use of ingesting essential oils may be damaging. However, I can also attest to my personal benefits from essential oil practice and I am a satisfied consumer who has not experienced any known side effects.

But now I will ask the question again, should you add essential oils to water? My answer—it depends.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

