Skip to content

Naturally Alkalized

March 21, 2016

If you haven’t heard, the big craze over the past few years is whether or not drinking alkaline water has health benefits. For some time now, I have been considering purchasing a unit that creates alkaline in water,  but I really was hoping for something more budget friendly, as the solution that I originally had my eye on was in the $2,000 range. I have since learned that there are other options that range from $100 to $2,100, and www.alkalinewatermachinereviews.com has created a comparison of the top four alkaline water machines, so if you are interested in purchasing one of the many alkaline water units that are on the market, I strongly suggest that you do your research.

After completing my analysis, I decided that I would look into ways to create a natural alkalized water. When doing so, http://www.wikihow.com outlined these three methods:

  1. Use baking soda. Add 1/8 tbsp. baking soda to an 8-ounce glass of water.
  2. Use lemons. Lemons are anionic, so when you drink lemon water, your body reacts with the anionic properties of the lemon making the water alkaline as your body digests it.
  3. Add pH drops.

I was excited to learn that the process was actually easier than I thought, considering that even with the alkalizing machine, the alkalized water will only maintain the antioxidant properties for 18 to 24 hours, and the higher pH properties will come back to a neutral pH level of seven within one to two weeks, and the smaller molecule cluster size will last approximately one to three months; this is according to http://www.aquahealthproducts.com.

In addition to wanting to add alkaline in my water, I would also like to stop drinking my water out of plastic bottles and start using glass bottles instead.

According to www.onegreenplanet.org, plastic bottles contain bisphenol A (BPA), the chemical used to make the plastic hard and clear. BPA is an endocrine disruptor, which has been proven to be hazardous to human health. It has been strongly linked to a host of health problems including certain types of cancer, neurological difficulties, early puberty in girls, reduced fertility in women, premature labor, and defects in newborn babies, to name a few examples.

So, with that said, I chose to go with the use of lemons in my water, which I had been inadvertently doing all along. I have also started to drink my water out of a glass bottle, and the fun part of my new process is not just the lemons, but playing around with different fruits and roots like ginger to add to my water, giving it a new refreshing flavor every day.

So, if you are considering switching to alkaline water or swapping your plastic bottle for glass, I hope my journey helped you to decide your next steps.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

