Skip to content

Always Friends

March 2, 2016

I was so excited for winter break. Not the traditional holiday season vacation, but an actual getaway from the Milwaukee winter.

I checked my phone and the forecast showed that it was going to be a high of 82 when I landed in Southern California on February 13, and I had my sandals on speed dial – what an amazing day.

The next morning I watched the sunrise at 6:38 a.m.  At this point, I felt that sleep was overrated, and I can sleep when I get back home. Feeling rejuvenated, I studied my itinerary in my mind, while I sat and watched the sky transform from dusty gray to pale blue. I then started to think about the people who lived in this unusual climate every day, and I wondered if they appreciated it as much as I, or had it become rote and mundane?

Later in the day, as I drove through the city I paid attention to the various types of housing. Some sat high on the hills kissing the edge of the mountain, and there were many apartment buildings overlooking the street-filled automobiles, and I immediately considered the safety of small children—or maybe families just didn’t reside in this particular part of the community?

This trip to sunny California wasn’t just a mini vacay; it was also a chance to visit family. Being able to meet family on their turf is always a great experience for me, because it is interesting being exposed to new energy in the surroundings of kinship. We laughed about things that didn’t matter and we were happy to just share the air that was invisibly flowing around the room, as we quenched our thrust with water from the tap while simultaneously conversing about the West Coast drought.

On my final day of “winter break,” as I splash my feet in the cool water of the outdoor pool, I made sure to etch in my memory the awesome moment of a full golden sun smiling from a powder blue canvas, inviting me to come and visit again next year. This was a miraculous trip and I was grateful for the opportunity, but ironically enough, I was also looking forward to going back home and rekindling my relationship with old man winter. As much as I wanted to get away, I wanted just as much to return. I enjoyed his cutting-edge approach to fashion, encouraging my layers and celebrating my accessories. He taught me to value change, but more importantly, he instilled that I should respect the sunrise.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

