Skip to content

D.I.Y. – I Did!

February 25, 2016

Home repairs!  What can be said about them?  They are not fun and they can be cumbersome and costly in many cases.  However, you can learn to simply D.I.Y. – Do It Yourself. I am not a lazy person by nature at all, and I am certainly not a procrastinator. I do get tired of shelling out dollars to repairmen and home warranty companies for repairs, especially those small ones that come in multitudes at times.

When I purchased my home, I had a professional electrician install three motion sensor light housing kits: one directly over my garage, the other on the side of my garage near my parking slab and one over my back door entry way.  I kid you not when I tell you that all three lights went out in succession over the past few weeks. About three weeks ago, I came home around 6 p.m. and my back door motion light was out. It is plenty dark in the corner of my house near the back door, so this was an immediate safety issue that I had to resolve quickly.

I phoned my handyman and he said he would charge me $25  just to look at it and or replace the bulb. If it was something more serious, it would be more money.  So I trekked over to Home Depot and bought the bulb needed prior to him showing up. Turns out, it was a burned out bulb that I paid for him to replace—$25  later. I thought, Wow . . . the bulb itself only cost $8 !

Literally two days later, the motion light on the side of my garage near my slab was out!  Now I was fit to be tied. I had to call my handyman again for the same exact problem, but at least this time he only charged me $15, but still, I was out that amount, plus an additional $8 for another bulb.

We had a wind storm last Friday, February 19th and I believe the strong winds blew out, yet the third motion light directly over my garage. At this point, I got smart.  I have a great memory and I watched my handyman each time he came over to replace the first two bulbs, which was not an easy feat. A ladder of at least six feet was needed, as well as a utility glove to handle the halogen bulb. Apparently these types of halogen bulbs—at $8 a pop—cannot be handled with bare hands, as the fingerprints will render them defective on the spot. Go figure.

At any rate, I only have a four-foot ladder and I had no utility glove, plus . . . you guessed it, I needed another $8 special, fancy halogen bulb. I went back to Home Depot and purchased a six-foot ladder, a pair of utility gloves and that darn bulb. By 8:30 a.m. I was back at home and had the bulb installed by 8:45 a.m. I was so proud of myself because I did not have to make another call to my handyman nor pay him more money for a seemingly simple repair task I accomplished on my own.

So right, I was out $45 for the ladder, $5 for the gloves and yes . . . another $8 for the bulb. The way I see it,  it’s an investment for my house for other odd jobs and I am CERTAIN those expensive little halogen bulbs will blow out again. When they do, I will be armed and ready to DO IT MYSELF.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

