Skip to content

Can We Talk?

February 6, 2016

Why is it so difficult to have the conversation? To be honest, it has always made me very uncomfortable, which I ironically find illogical because it is a fact of life. Without a doubt, everyone will experience it eventually. Yet, a lot of us still have trouble striking up the conversation regarding—death and dying.

I am currently teaching an eldercare class at one of the local universities and as I was educating my students, I asked the question “Why are we uneasy about discussing our plans for our inevitable demise?”

“We are afraid to speak death into the universe,” was one of my students’ responses. “I am too young to think about dying right now;” and one that registered with me, “I am afraid to die.”

Once I started to analyze what it actually means to plan my death, I realized that the preparation is not really for me, but more so for those who I will leave behind. My planning will help make my transition easier for my loved ones.

I must admit, as I am writing this blog, I am having a hard time speaking about this topic. What I am learning is that we have been conditioned to believe that death represents sadness, basically because the emotion that is most commonly felt when death occurs is grief. So how do we change our perception of dying? I think we can initiate this paradigm shift by gaining a better spiritual understanding of what the afterlife looks like and how magical it must be to be in a place where our earthly concerns are no longer relevant.

According to the bible, death is compared to sleep more than fifty times. The bible says, “for the living know that they will die; but the dead know nothing . . . their love, their hatred, and their envy have now perished” (Ecclesiastes 9:5, NKJV.) So when we die, are we just in a long sleep?

As I continue to inform others, I also gain personal awareness about my own trepidations.  So I ask myself the question, “Am I comfortable having the conversation?” My answer: almost.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

