Skip to content

Dinner Party

January 27, 2016

 

I am an avid history buff and I like to throw dinner parties.  I have been decorating my entire home in total Egyptian motif. Egypt is a country I aspire to travel to before I leave this earth. So I got to thinking that if I could throw a dinner party with three great people from history . . . who would I invite and why?

Egypt is only one fascination for me, but from its golden era I would invite Pharaoh Akhenaten. I would want him at my dinner party so that I could hear from him first-hand what really happened with Moses and the exodus and if he was part of that? I would want him to enlighten me to the technology they had at that time, and how the heck were the pyramids really built? I would want to hear about the power of the ankh and all of the great mysteries of Egypt.

My second dinner guest would be the lion of Judah, Yeshua, but as we know him, Jesus. Wow, the list would just go on and on of the things I would have to say and want to hear from the philosophical carpenter. I suppose more than anything, I would simply want to bask in the glow of his countenance and touch the hem of his garment and let his power renew me.

The third and final dinner guest at my party would be Lucille Ball. I am a huge Lucy fan; I even own the box DVD set of all of the I Love Lucy sitcoms!  How awesome would it be to ask her how she got her hair that deep apricot color? Or how and when did she know that Desi Arnaz was her soul mate?  Lucy was not only a real beauty in her day, but she was funny and a powerful business mogul, as if the aforementioned were not enough.

I suppose to you, the reader, this is nothing short of a daydream, but for me it is an escape from the worries of the world, and if only for one day, I was granted this daydream to materialize . . . oh, if the walls could talk in my dining room, the tales they would tell.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a comment