Skip to content

Health Is Everything!

December 13, 2015

So I am blogging to all that I passed my biometric exam this past Monday with flying colors. It might not be a huge thing to anyone else, but it is huge to me. Once a year, my company holds a huge exam to test our glucose, cholesterol, blood pressure and body mass, and if the numbers are spot on or approximately where they need to be . . . this is a most excellent thing.

From one year to the next, I strive to meet this health goal by being better with my numbers than what I was the year before. This is not always an easy thing to do because diet and exercise play an integral role in obtaining good numbers. Last year, I was not happy with my cholesterol numbers as they were not bad, but they were on the border of escalation.

The dietician at that time asked me if I ate a lot of lunch meat products and I told her no, but I was eating a great deal of processed turkey products like turkey sausage, patties and Cajun turkey sausage. She said that would certainly elevate cholesterol levels, as well as using the wrong kinds of oils/butters. I quickly did away with most of the turkey products and started incorporating more raw veggies and cooked meats like baked chicken breast and a great deal more fish. I think I overdosed on tuna and salmon this past year! I started eating more fiber and oatmeal, and as many of you already know from my previous blogs, I am an avid Tahitian noni Juice drinker.

I took my exercise routine from three days a week to four days a week when and where I was able. It was not easy, because I moved to a new residence and had a whole lot going on with trying to renovate my new digs, but I still made time for the gym. Summer festivals had to be the hardest! All the good foods they had at Brady Street Days and Summerfest, not to mention the fry bread at Indian summer . . . all were killer for me to stay away from. I managed to eat in moderation and watch my portion control.

I have never been a soda drinker, so keeping in line with plain old water was not hard. I took many juices out of my diet and when I absolutely had to have something sweet, I would reach for pure lemonade. This year is about to be over in the blink of an eye and yet another biometric exam is done, but I knocked this year’s exam out of the park. My cholesterol was so low that I gasped with glee when I saw the number. My body mass was spot on for me being a size eight at 5 feet 8 inches tall. Blood pressure was where it needs to be. My glucose was so low that my new nickname is “sugar free.”

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

