Skip to content

Proof or Placebo?

November 13, 2015

Years ago, I had a health scare and it prompted me to want to do better with what I was putting into my body. Sounds cliché, but it is so true that we are what we eat. What we eat can be a direct benefactor or deterrent to the actual cell makeup within our bodies.

When this happened to me, I did some extensive research on noni juice (noni is fruit from the noni tree, also known by its scientific name Morinda citrifolia) and discovered a plethora of health benefits to be reaped from taking this super juice, or super fruit, if you will. The testimonies that I read from people who had been taking this juice for years was simply astounding. People that had been suffering from terminal cancer and some that were even give only a few years to live had totally turned around their health situation due to noni juice.

There are always the sceptics out there that would blog their opinions that the juice was nothing more than a placebo and it was all in the minds of these people who were so-called healing themselves. Funny how people can always say something negative about a thing that they themselves have probably never tried. You have to take the good with the bad, I suppose, when reading others opinions and then ultimately decide for yourself.

So in 2005, I went to Outpost Natural Foods and purchased my very first bottle of noni juice to put this miracle fruit juice to the ultimate test within my own body. I had the knowledge down regarding the dosage amount and when to take it, as well as what I could expect to see happen even within a few days of taking it. I was also forewarned about the taste being less than appetizing and really quite repugnant. Well, this part of the testimonial blogs that I read was 100 precent factual. The taste is not the greatest, but I have found that in general, things that taste bad have a strange way of turning out to be very good for us.

After about a week of taking the juice, I noticed a marked difference in getting rid of bloat and gas and better elimination all the way around. I had more stamina and endurance. My skin and hair were more supple and stronger. My nails began to grow at a much faster rate, to say nothing about how my cholesterol level had dropped, in addition to lowering the risk of high blood pressure. Noni juice is also great for helping in weight loss, which is always an added plus to any diet or workout routine. I will admit that I had gotten away from taking noni juice in the past few years, but I recently started back imbibing this super drink this past September. Over the last few months, not only have I lost 10 pounds, (and 10 pounds of what I believe was undigested waste) but I have totally detoxed my system and it is running beyond supreme output!

I work out three to four times per week with strong cardio and swimming, and I love to sit in the steam room for meditative properties that I believe is a necessary component to my normal workout routine. I am blessed that I have become reacquainted with this super fruit juice, because it has totally put me back on track to feeling better and doing better with my overall quality of life. Contrary to the negative blog comments that others have posted about it being a placebo or all in the users mind . . . well, you pick up a bottle and see proof positive for yourself.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

