Skip to content

Slow Down

October 30, 2015

This week, I have been feeling like I am a day behind for some reason. Maybe there is just too much going on, or it could be that time is just really moving fast. All last week, I could not keep up with what the correct date was. I kept glancing at my phone to remind me of this. I know I am really busy when I have to start relying on my phone for the correct date. This tells me that I need to slow it down just a bit and breathe. Time will always be here and whatever you cannot get done on this day, will surely be waiting for you the next. I tend not to rush in things that I do, but I am orderly and systematic, which makes me a very punctual person as I do not believe in showing up late to anything. Life does happen and sometimes we cannot make it there on time and sometimes it is because we are rushing. I wonder if at times rushing comes from not being prepared or planning. It is definitely food for thought.

Now that I am cognizant that even though I have planned with my systematic ways, it is still possible to get into the groove or flow of moving too fast. So even though this week is halfway over, I vow to step aside from myself and get out of my own way before I trip over myself. I promise to slow down my pace and accept the things I cannot change and the events I cannot make move fast enough. Time is eternally forever and although I am not immortal, I will live each day of my life from here on out as if I am by slowing down.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

