Skip to content

Simply Persevere

October 13, 2015

There are those days when you just don’t feel like getting out of bed. Today was one of those days for me. Yesterday afternoon, my throat started to feel scratchy and tight as if I was threatening a cold. By the time I got home around 6 p.m., my stomach was doing small flips. I went straight to the medicine cabinet and found some zinc-based cold ease and downed it. You see, I don’t have time to get sick. A cold and being sick for me right now is not an option. Not only do I have too much to do for myself, but I have people relying on me this week, like my clients at work, family and friends.

Yet and still, the urge was so strong this morning to simply roll over, stay in bed and let the dreaded threat of a cold take me down. So I lay there for another 10 minutes to collect myself and then quickly jumped to my feet. I told myself as I walked into the shower, ”Don’t quit Sonya, simply persevere!”

Things generally come to me in the shower that would normally not have come to my mind at all. I was thankful for the hot water and warm steam that seemed to further awaken my senses back to reality. The reality that this is life and you only get one, so go out there and make it the day that you want to see happen. If I don’t want to be sick, then I shall not be sick. If I don’t feel like the normal Tuesday afternoon meeting at work, then I’ll go into the meeting with a huge smile on my face and leave the same way that I went in. If I don’t want to deal with opening the electric bill from We Energies, open it anyway because the reality of it is that it ain’t going to leave and you have to pay it! If I don’t want to deal with the annoying voice of a co-worker that talks way too much, then I can stick my ear buds into my ears in between my emails and phone calls to drown the chatter box out and let my tunes take me away.

That still, small voice which I believe resonates from the pineal gland, told me to do what you have to do today to get by and make it happen for yourself. But whatever I do today and whatever this day brings…DON’T QUIT, SONYA. Simply persevere.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

