Skip to content

Cycle of Life

September 26, 2015

There are so many people in my life right now who are going through health trials with their mothers. On the one hand, I feel despondent for them and their plight, but on the other hand, I try to look at the miracle of mothers and children and the cycle of life. One of my dear friends had to move her mother to Wisconsin to be near her so that she could spend more time with her. She’s in her nineties and not doing so well. I see how this has taken a toll on my girlfriend and the never-ending list of things she must do to constantly be there for her mother. I admire my friend’s compassion and patience that she has with her mother.

I have yet another friend and her mom just had open-heart surgery a few weeks back and is now in transition to recover at home on constant bed rest. At that time I could feel my friend’s true concern for her mother’s quality of life radiate through her words when she spoke to me. I am in awe of my friend’s ability to keep her positive attitude and her faith at all times. My co-worker…well his mother is suffering from severe dementia, but yet he is kind to her when she constantly calls his work phone saying that she does not know what number this is or who she just called, even when it is her own son. My heart cries out to him for I know how painful this must be to watch your mother lose the most precious thing we can own—our memory. I am proud of his drive to keep her happy with ice cream and walking the dog together for it is the little things that count most.

Last but not least is that my fiancé’s mother just suffered a stroke about two weeks ago, leaving her paralyzed on one side with some other issues to her brain and heart. He already had a ton on his plate and he is constantly being pulled every which way but loose for he is also the patriarch of his family since the passing of his father. He is everyone’s go to guy for answers or to fix this or to fix that. I cannot think of myself at this time, and must think of him and all that he has to contend with. My soul is cut deep by this, for his soul is my soul, making his pain my pain. He is my hero as of lately, for he has really stepped up to the plate and pushed his own full plate to the side as any good son should do. I am humbled by his unselfishness. I am brought to tears when he feeds her.

I am learning from all of these people in my life, for one day I will be called upon to grant motherly care to my own mother for she did the same for me when I was but a child. The cycle of life is more real than I ever imagined.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

