Skip to content

Coping with Workplace Slackers

September 15, 2015

I really have to get this off my chest—I have never understood people with a poor work ethic. There are so many people in the world that would love to work, have a job, but maybe they are disabled or just not able to work at all, but the drive and the will are there. Looking at people come to work only to read junk on their Facebook page all day or pulling up other things they have no business doing on the internet, or just using the company instant messaging incessantly for tomfoolery conversations. I mean I am not joking when I say there are those that do this all day long at their work space, and unbeknownst to the company, they are paying these slackers to do it.

I think we have all pulled up things at work and I am not saying it is a crime. However, to abuse the system to get over on your place of work for your entertainment purposes, putting in no quantifiable work flow for the day, collecting a paycheck for this and walking away feeling good about it is beyond my understanding.

I try not to let it keep me in the doldrums, so I persevere in my own work trying my hardest to block out the unacceptable behavior I see in others at work. If I become too consumed with it, it blocks my own positive flow of thought, taking away time and talent from what I need to be focusing on. It is never my wish that another person lose their job, but I think what they are doing is blocking their blessings and so wrong from a karmic and ethical standpoint. I leave it up to the universe to deal with slackers and their right not to work.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for the Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

