Skip to content

Pinned Striped Sheets and a Mint Duvet

August 17, 2015

It was time! It had been two years since I had purchased new bedding and I couldn’t take it anymore. I am normally a “seasonal girl.” As the seasons change, so did my décor. This variation would bring new life and new energy to my home and frankly, it just made me feel good.

Over the past two years I started my own business. This exciting, but challenging time in my life required me to cut back on my spending, which meant I only spent money on things that were necessary.

It took everything in my soul not to just say “forget it,” and keep my tradition of seasonal change, but I knew that this was my test. Sometimes we have to make do with what we have, before we can be blessed with excess. As trivial as my longing to have new sheets and a new duvet may sound, throughout this two-year period, I was reminded every day when I stepped into my bedroom that as much as I wanted to remove my old dingy fitted sheet and yellowing quilt, I needed to be obedient and remember – “this too shall pass.”

When I was able to pick out my new bedroom colors, I felt like chains had been removed from my hands and I was no longer restricted, because I was being rewarded for my diligence and my faith. As the colors were altered in my room, so did the influences sounding my existence.

I also learned to take nothing for granted and to be thankful for whatever I have in this life. So yes, I am elated that I am now able to express my joy through transformation, but I am still appreciative of my two-year inhibition, because if I never learned restraint – how could I possibly value the importance of my liberty of choice?

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

