Skip to content

Empowered

June 23, 2015

For the past few weeks, I have embarked on a research journey, devouring everything I can possibly read concerning my cultural past and who I truly am and the wondrous accomplishments of my culture. My culture is strong and resilient like the great pyramid of Khufu built by his architect Imhotep. My physical characteristics are prominent like the nose that used to adorn the Sphinx of Giza. I come from shores of gold and ivory with endless stretches of beach that seem to run on for eternity.

I stand corrected . . . those shores have been here forever, since the beginning of time. These shores protect the great Garden of Eden where the first physical man was fashioned. My culture is rich and fertile like the dark soil that cultivates the Nile River. In my mind’s eye, I see the ancestors of my past garbed in beautiful, illustrious robes of silk, with sandals of pure gold clasped around their feet. I hear the beat of the drums and I move to its rhythm in this day and age, even as they did in times of ancient. Their rhythm is engrained in my DNA.

As I made my way through the crowd at Summer Solstice on North Avenue this past Saturday, I look around at all of the gorgeous people from all cultures including my own and think to myself, it is good to know who I am and whose I am! It is great that we can all coexist as one; some knowing and some sharing in the truth of who we all really are. The ancient past of my culture empowers me today to walk proudly and step tall, because the blood of kings runs through my veins, for I am the Western shores of the Gold Coast. For I am Egypt.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for The Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

