Skip to content

Let It Go

June 15, 2015

Every 30 days for the past 10 years, I pull a word or a phrase from a blessed bag that contains 12 words or phrases that were researched and found by myself and a few loved ones prior to the start of every New Year. I believe spirit places the selected word into my hand, and this is the word or phrase that I need to focus on and master for the next 30 days. June 1st, I pulled the phrase, LET IT GO. What initially came to mind when I pulled this is that I need to take my hands off all situations that are beyond my scope or control, and let the creator do His job.

By nature, I tend to want to control my own destiny, orchestrating the way I want things to go or expect that they should go. When the outcome is less than desirable for me, this is where the lesson I need to learn comes in with let it go. I am 15 days into this phrase and each day I find something new to relish in the fact that it is working for my good. There is no fear any longer for me that I am not in control when I choose to let go. In fact, I am in more control when I choose to relinquish my grip. Each day I am growing stronger by simply letting go of outcomes I cannot control, people I cannot change or understand why they do the things they do.

I am learning to pray on the situation or the person and just give it all away to my higher power. I was waking up repeatedly at night with interrupted sleep patterns, and instantly my mind would start to worry about what the next day was about to bring. Would I be able to deal with it? However, since I have been in my phrase of let it go, the past 15 days I have noticed deeper, more restful sleep that has become less interrupted with each passing night. This is clearly a positive outcome from my new-found gift in learning to let it go.

I now approach each day or difficult person with…”Ok world, bring it on!” I am ready for whatever life attempts to send my way, because I am suited up with the armor of my belief system, which is grounded in faith, that the creator has got my back. There is a profound liberation when you truly let it go and stop worrying. I feel like a tightrope walker who cannot fail or fall, because my invisible net, my creator is stretched out beneath me. There is no way I can lose at this point. It will be interesting to see where I am with my lesson in letting go by the time I reach June 30th. If this is what 15 days of teaching has done for me, then look out world, I will have reached my pinnacle of mastery—the glow of letting go.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for The Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Zelda Corona permalink
    June 15, 2015 7:36 pm

    Congrats Sonya! Life is so easy when we let God!!!

  2. July 5, 2015 5:46 am

    Sometimes we cause ourselves much dreaded pain, because we don’t let go emotionally.

  3. July 5, 2015 5:46 am

    Reblogged this on HK Hypnosis and commented:
    Sometimes we cause ourselves much dreaded pain, because we don’t let go emotionally.

Leave a Reply

