Skip to content

Good Work

May 5, 2015

It is crystal clear that I have started a new phase of my life, and I am not sure if I should laugh or scream. Trust me, this transition is everything that I thought it would be, but reality still has a way of putting you in check, even when there aren’t any surprises.

I am calling this my chapter of humility. I have been led to serve, but my trepidation is of losing the me that is familiar and comfortable, like a favorite pair of house slippers. I know I should embrace the new pair that I received for Christmas, but I just can’t seem to bring myself to toss my old trusties.

Normally I am a person who welcomes change. For the most part, I encourage it. This is why I am working hard to understand this emotion that I am carrying on my hip like a mother totting her child.

To assist with this edification, I started researching what it means to be “called to serve.” What I learned is that being called is more about serving a higher power versus receiving fame or glory. It is truly about letting go what has become customary and begin to walk into unknown territory with a blind fold, but yet and still, knowing that the one leading me would ensure my safety.

Matthew 22:14 says, “Many are called but few are chosen.” Many people hear the call of God but only the “few” will respond because they are the ones who are truly hearing. Jesus said many times, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear.” The point is that everyone has ears, but only a few are listening and responding to the call.

As I continue to seek understanding of my vocation, I know for sure that I am meant to use my gifts to develop and assist. I am confident that my journey will allow me to explore new endeavors and to stretch the will of the person who I thought I was, penetrating through layers of control and rigidity to finally birth the being that I was ultimately born to become.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

