Skip to content

Quantum Leap Chapter 1.2

April 8, 2015

Fear. Worry. Overwhelmed. Uncertainty. These are some of the emotions that smothered me like a house filled with smoke when I decided to leave my job of 25 years to start my own business. These feelings took me to an uncomfortable place of which I was not familiar. I was greeted at the door by justification; she immediately took the position of why it was not the right time to start my business – mental photographs of my children and husband flashed before my eyes. I was then offered my favorite glass of wine by false-security, who made me intoxicated and reminded me that I had a great paying job. Why on earth would I want to let that go? And finally, trepidation cooked up a great meal and force-fed me doubt, exhaustion, and procrastination. My head was spinning, but nonetheless, I had made myself at home.

I worked in the healthcare industry and I thrived in a “dream job” of IT Project Manager, and I believed I had arrived. I was making great money and leading my teams through challenging projects, and loving every minute of it. Things started to shift in IT and although I was still making a nice income, I was no longer excited about my day-to-day job. My role had changed and now I needed to readjust to a more technical environment. As a leader, I could totally relate to the new business need, but as a person who strived on interactive relationships, I knew I was no longer a fit.

I compensated what was now missing on my job with my adjunct faculty role at a private university. I had been teaching health care management for about eight years, focusing on interpersonal development. I love teaching and I was having fun, but a new normal was taking over and I was no longer in control. The changes in IT transformed my instructor position from optional to a necessity. I began to need to teach. Educating gave me what I craved so I could survive a job that was literally assassinating my integrity.

Either poop or get off of the pot! This old adage was ringing in my ears like a school bell and I knew it was time for me to go to my next class. My children had always been a priority and I took pride in having a strong marriage and the confidence to make things happen. As I thought this through, I never doubted what I could make happen, I just wasn’t prepared for the when and the how. I was given a prophecy of the date that I would transition out, but as much as I was excited, I was equally frightened. Scared of losing all that I worked so hard to gain, but terrified of who I would potentially disappoint if I failed. This became the first few paragraphs of my chapter called “Quantum Leap,” in the book Mommy Divas on the Move. The purpose for this book was to give moms who wanted to become entrepreneurs the encouragement and 16 successful secrets that they would need to make this leap.

Now, two years after I jumped on the mompreneur bandwagon, I will be honest and say that on a few occasions I have doubted the breadcrumbs that I was following, but without a doubt, I have never wavered from the intention of the journey – which to say the least, has been both hills and valleys. But the message that I want to communicate based on my current existence is my secret to staying motivated and why I refuse to give up regardless of what my situation looks like – Consistent Prayer. I have stayed obedient to the purpose that I am called to do, and I seek a higher power through daily meditation. The relationship that I am building is permanent and necessary because it has been proven that I am not in my situation alone. God spoke in John 14:6 that He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life, so I no longer need breadcrumbs. God declared, Follow Me, Believe Me, and Live in Me. This ensures that failure is not an option.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

