Skip to content

Body Talk

March 10, 2015

March roars in like a lion, speaking directly to me about my health. Tuning into the body is something we all do at some level, but I like to think that I am the guru of “me” when it comes to discerning what my body is saying.

Over the past month, I noticed I was having difficulty swallowing, muscle spasms, weak knees, irritability and lethargy. I gasped when I went online to read about all of the symptoms, because I had at least four of them and this was alarming. I immediately went to Outpost in Mequon and spoke to the nutritionist. I have been taking magnesium tablets along with vitamin B6 for the past few weeks and this has helped me tremendously.

Pills and tablets are okay, but by nature, I am not a pill popper, so I have also incorporated more dark leafy veggies and black beans into my diet, as these two power houses are loaded with magnesium. In furthering my research, I also found that women who are experiencing premenstrual syndrome or perimenopause can also encounter low magnesium levels, therefore compounding mood swings and anxiety triggers.

Well, finding this out really helped me to communicate more effectively with my body in giving it what it needs. One extremely interesting point that could have started my deficiency, is the fact that I have amped up my cardio workouts over the past two months and I have been sweating more profusely during my routine. Research facts show that loosing water from the body (and sweat is water), can be a direct cause for low magnesium levels. This does not mean that I need to stop my cardio burn sessions at the gym, I just had to learn to put more water back into my body.

This last tidbit I will share with you really blew me out of the water – no pun intended – but I did not know that you can take an Epsom salt bath, lay it in the water for a good amount of time and this will restore magnesium levels instantly by topical absorption into the skin! This is awesome information that I felt the need to share, because we only get one body, and I personally do not run to the doctor for every little thing. I believe that when we listen to our bodies talk, we align ourselves with the proper knowledge and power, making us ultimately accountable for our good health.

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for The Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

