Skip to content

Ain’t Nothing Sweet About Me

February 25, 2015

Sweets, glorious sweets!! I mean, what would some foods be without that pure white little substance called sugar? I have had a love affair with sugar my entire life and it still ranks pretty high on the top of the list as one of my favorite spices. Sugar is my kryptonite, my go to comfort substance, my sweet addiction . . .

Or well, it used to be. I have been a huge proponent of eating clean, a life style change I underwent about five years ago, and it has not been the easiest road for me where sugar is concerned. At first, the hardest part was psyching out my brain that you do not have to have dessert after a good meal every night. My brain was like, “Oh no, this is simply not going to work!” Having that occasional slice of cake or some delectable ice cream was not going to hurt me, is what I convinced myself.

The end result of this sugar filled eating was doing more harm than good. About a year ago, a dear friend of mine asked me to join her in a clean eating meal plan program. I was skeptical at first, because this meal plan program totally cuts out sugar and all the places sugar can hide in foods we don’t even realize are sabotaging our diet and exercise goals. Condiments are almost nil to none with this plan, and it sent me into a state of panic when I saw that ketchup was a no-no. Ketchup! I mean, come on. You have to be kidding me!! Who can go without ketchup?

But ketchup is simply replaced by tomato, creamy style salad dressings are replaced by olive oil or vinaigrettes, and mayonnaise is replaced by mustard. To some degree, you get the general idea of the meal plan. Well, I managed to eliminate ketchup and the cream based condiments and even cream based soups that were loaded with sugar. Now, I can actually taste the quality of my food without it being camouflaged by so much sugar. I have totally eliminated desserts after dinner from my thought process and with that said, totally eliminated it from my meal plan.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, I get one cheat day per week and I savor this day because I might treat myself to a cupcake or some cookies, as total deprivation of all sweets is unrealistic. I have been pleasantly surprised by my decreased waistline, clearer complexion and the overall way I feel just generally living my life. Moderation of this spice has also taken my workout routine to a greater fat burning plateau. I kicked the sugar habit, and in the words of my favorite heroine Scarlett O’Hara, ”GREAT BALLS OF FIRE…DON’T CALL ME SUGAR!”

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for The Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

