Skip to content

Image

February 24, 2015

It took a while, but I have learned that allowing myself to expose vulnerability and remove the mask of “superhero” has given me the strength that I need to fight my next battle, and win.

Every Superman has a Clark Kent and every Batman has a Bruce Wayne. Now I know that my superhero identity also needs my vulnerable side, because the two personas are what makes me whole.

In the past, I believed exposing my truths were my kryptonite – they made me appear weak. But in fact, my truths are my power. The armor that I challenge myself to wear on the outside, as it creates a testimony that everything is possible.

I am not isolated from fear, doubt, and worry but my beliefs provide me with a defense that is my refuge from these rivals. Some of the battles that I have fought have left a few scrapes and bruises, but these are only reminders that I must continue to add and replace the protective gear for my suit to ensure that I am armed with the right tools.

I played the lead in many episodes – I am comfortable in this role. I truly don’t mind the supporting title either, but somehow I seem to get redirected to the position where others believe I am the best fit. There are times when I would rather be the side-kick, but between my compelling urge to save the day and the part that I am most asked to play, has type-casted how I am viewed by the world – truth be told, how I also see myself.

It feels good to be an inspiration. Equally, I seek to be inspired, which can be challenging for someone who is normally the motivator. Others don’t always recognize my need. Not because they don’t care, but more so because my vulnerability can be hard to detect – even when it is being exposed.

I am now understanding my gift to serve and the responsibility that comes with this contribution. I want to be obedient to my calling and to be conscious of the life that I was born to live. I want to give even when I am not able to receive. I want to educate, even when I need to learn. I want to seek, even when I need to be found.

My revelation is that I am not designed to settle for anything…I was created to expect everything.

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

