Skip to content

Friendship

February 12, 2015

The sun is shining at its highest point and the deck is illuminated with the warmth of the universe. I am excited to see my friend, as he chose to stay inside the last couple of days. Typically when he decides to visit, lunch is served on the patio table, but the 16 degree temperature is preventing that today.

Wanting to seize the moment, I decided to dine at the kitchen table and extend a seat next to mine so we could reminisce on days past and envision days to come. He would engulf the room with his presence and cover me with his grace, and I would be new again.

Trying not to be rude, I wanted to keep him in my focus and enjoy his company, but my attention is being drawn outside of the window to the foot of snow-covered wetlands and leave-fallen trees. I then started to imagine spring and all the increase and colors that it brings. I turned my attention back to my friend and think, how fun it will be when we can experience the heat of the new season.

I am honored because he hung out for quite a while before he started to prepare to go. I didn’t fret about him leaving, because I knew we would definitely spend time together soon.

I will admit, sometimes I am dependent on my friend, as he motivates me simply with his company. I want to be a good friend as well – I don’t want to appear selfish. So, on days when he is at rest, I seek ways to inspire myself.

I remember that I can control my happiness, that I can inspire new decisions, that I have the power to change my outcome!

I can bake smiling face cookies on cloudy days. I can blow bubbles when it’s raining outside. I can practice for a marathon in my basement when the snow prevents me from leaving my house. I can make myself laugh!

Yes, I truly appreciate the sun and all of his glory. He is not just a friend to me, but he is so much to so many, and he has taught me a lot.

I have learned that I am limitless. I have discovered how to appreciate the now. I understand the power of persistence. I have cultured joy…I DEMAND SELF-FULFILLMENT!

Zelda Corona is a business and life coach under her company Victory Vision Business Ventures, LLC. She co-authored the books No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged and Mommy Divas on the Move: 16 Successful Secrets for Mompreneurs. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

