Skip to content

Living Golden

February 10, 2015

Never before have I experienced so much liberation in letting go of things that serve no real purpose in my life any more. Sadly at times, this also includes letting go of people that we held in high regard or loved very deeply. At one time, I thought I would roll up in a big old ball and die if I did not have the love of certain people I thought loved me with a passion as I did them.

Circumstance gave me no other option, no hiding place, no refuge from the inevitable outcome in having to move on without them. The inevitable came for me last Friday night with the snow crunching under the heels of my boots, as the cold north face wind whispered in my ear, ”Hold your head up high and keep walking!”

I walked out of the conflict of another person’s control drama, and turned the page to a new chapter in the second half of my life. My focus now is to live golden. To live a golden life is one of freedom from stress and anxiety that other people’s issues tend to place on you. Living a golden life is when we master the art of happiness in just the mere fact that we survived all that drama and we still have our sanity in check. A golden life means to have your heart and mind operating in one accord harmony. One truth that I have come to realize is that the heart can sometimes overrule the mind with its foolish wants, and it is best we go with our first minds, least we fall into calamity.

I would like to think that I am done falling into calamity, so I put my mind first over my heart, for the mind is the great protector of the heart. I begin to live golden when I get out of my mind’s way and let it do the work of protecting my heart. But I know it all starts with me. To place blame on another for my pitfalls is not the intent. I take full responsibility for the fact that I used to be a heart listener. In starting this new chapter in the second half of my life, I aspire on purpose to up my game. My thinking cap in on tight, my heart is in check, drama is a thing of the past, my future is now! Look out world – I am living golden!

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for The Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients – Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

