Skip to content

Water Walker

January 26, 2015

While at the gym yesterday morning, I deviated from my normal workout routine on the elliptical to simply walk on the treadmill. I used to run for the Milwaukee Striders Track team back in the day, so I am a true runner by nature. I guess you could say I enjoy speed, the fast paced acceleration of my feet as they hit the asphalt of a track.

I am not a patient person by nature, so walking to me seemed a waste of time. However, with the coming of the New Year and I am not a person to make resolutions, I chose to become a water walker. You might be wondering what a water walker is or maybe you have already figured it out. My definition of a water walker is a person that walks by faith no matter what the situation looks like and having zero fear of the unknown outcome. As I walked the treadmill at a steady pace, I came to know a different type of peace with the slower movement. It felt good to slow down and focus my mind, center my thoughts and fixate on my goals.

But then, my mind started to swirl with all of the things on my to-do list for the week that seemed insurmountable. Things to do for my loved ones, projects to be completed at work, repairs that need to be made, deadlines that I need to meet so that I will not let myself or others down completely.

Somehow, the walking kept me calm and eventually quieted that swirling chatter within my brain. The fear of not getting these things accomplished on time or of letting another down slowly started to dissipate with each tender, slowly thought out step that I took. I started to wonder, ”Is this what patience looks like?” I then shut my eyes and fully tuned into my steps, my breathing, and began to visualize my feet as feathers on top of water. In this short instance, I knew I was releasing my faith into the universe. As I made my descent from the treadmill to the locker room, it dawned on me that in order to work on faith more, you have to slow down and be patient with yourself while believing all the while that what you ask for will be attained. After all, there was a great man who walked on water…who am I to have little faith?

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for The Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients –Reflections Unplugged. She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ms TRP permalink
    January 27, 2015 9:49 pm

    Definitely Food for Thought. We are all told “Patience is a Virtue” but we do not practice it. Thanks for your “Ah’ha” Moment.

    • Zelda permalink
      January 28, 2015 4:55 pm

      Very inspirational and a great way to express growth!

      Zelda

Leave a Reply

