Skip to content

Makeup Bag

January 6, 2015

I was around 14 when I spent my summer vacation at my best friend’s aunt’s home in Arkansas. Aunt Martha . . . and boy did she give us an education on wearing makeup! Aunt Martha would look at us running to the bathroom mirror with our bags and applying our makeup, telling us we were putting on our “false face.” I looked at my best friend and we both cracked up laughing out loud! Aunt Martha went on to educate us in a quick and dirty way that in essence, our face powder was our arsenal of war paint in those makeup bags, and it was literally like wearing a false face; a face we were presenting to the world as not truly being what we looked like, or for that matter, who we were on the inside as young women.

I am 45 now, and every morning as I start my makeup routine, I think about Aunt Martha and my false face! I think deeply on this and her words strike a chord in me now that I am wiser, where I once laughed as silly school girls do. Makeup routines can vary from woman to woman. There is no judgment in how a woman chooses to do her thing to be at her best. I am all about that. However, there are many days that I go without my makeup and just a little lip gloss with a clean, scrubbed face and these are the days that I actually feel more liberated. More real and absolutely invincible . . . WOMAN!

Aunt Martha’s words still drill at my soul asking the proverbial question about what is really going on with a woman’s inner makeup? What does your inner makeup consist of to make you who you are? Her words make me want to transform from the false face makeup to the real face makeup of my inner beauty. I think every woman should let her confidence glide within her walk as she enters a room. Her eyes should tell the story of the inner happiness that she holds, because the eyes will tell all about you, no matter how fierce you look on the outside and even if you never open up your mouth! Her smile should be genuine, never rehearsed or faked, as this will always capture the best photos because she is being real!

Casting away the inner false face and getting down to the skin- deep beauty of our inner makeup is the best cosmetic I can pull out my makeup bag. I can only start with the woman in the mirror looking back at me, allowing her to come forth from the “false face and start applying the real face.” Let us unite as women and honestly ask ourselves: “What’s really going on in our makeup bags?”

Sonya Marie Bowman is a writer of positive prose for The Milwaukee Community Journal and a published co-author of the book No Artificial Ingredients –Reflections Unplugged.  She is a member of Sister Speak, a trilogy of writers who formed in 2010 with a vision of self-expression and a goal of healing. The trio states they are inspired by grace, allowing them to take a genuine position on the struggles and successes of everyday living.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 8, 2015 10:43 am

    Beautful! I wish I had that aswell at a young age😊

Leave a Reply

