Skip to content

Oat Burgers!

March 27, 2012

Last night I looked in my kitchen cupboard and saw how embarrassingly full it was with so much sitting unused. So instead of running out and buying even more food, I made a pact with myself to use what I had. I wanted to make something healthy, but I was tired of beans and lentils and instead reached for the canister of rolled oats that I had bought with the ambitious idea of making my own health bars. What I made turned out pretty good, even if I say so myself, and I think I have discovered my new standby dinner.

Oat Burgers

1 finely chopped onion

2 minced garlic cloves

Salt and pepper

1 T olive oil

1 cup rolled oats

2 cup flour

1/4 – 1/2 cup chopped nuts

3-4 T water

1/4 cup minced cilantro

First sauté the onion and garlic in the oil and then set aside. In a mixing bowl add the oats, peanut butter, nuts, and flour and give it a stir. Then mix in the onion mixture and add the water a little at a time so that you can form patties. I added cilantro because I wanted to put some color in, but it is optional. Form firm patties and brown them in a pan with a little more oil.

I served them on toasted French rolls garnished with lettuce, sliced tomato, sliced avocado and a dollop of homemade Thousand Island dressing. Along side I served some homemade potato chips because after all, what is a burger without fried potatoes on the side?

Kaitlyn Mekertichian, Community Blog Content Editor 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

