Skip to content

She’s A Super Freekeh

March 23, 2012

Okay, so I’m at the grocery store looking for something new, something to jump out at me from the shelf and say “make me for dinner”. We don’t eat chicken, fish or steak or any of the other easy standbys and I am tired of pasta, also I’m running out of time before the car pools start.  When I do finally get home there is nothing worse than the family walking in and saying “what’s for dinner”? You know if I knew that, I would make it and whenever I come up with something there are complaints. “We had that last week, I don’t like that or that’s weird”.  So today I found a box of Freekeh pronounced Freekah unlike the other ancient grain called Quinoa that I can never pronounce right. For sure no one can tell me they had this the other day as I have never even heard of it before. So, I buy a box and run home to “google” it to figure out what it is and how to make it.

Freekeh, (I know, you have to love the name), originated in 2300 B.C. somewhere in the Eastern Mediterranean. The story goes that there was a siege expected on this particular walled city and so the people picked all the green heads off of the wheat so that they could store it in the event of possible starvation. Well it turns out that they must have forgotten to replace the batteries in their smoke alarms and the buildings that stored their food supply burned to the ground. However, not people to give up, they rubbed the heads off of the smouldering green wheat and Freekeh, meaning “rubbed one” was born.

The delicious, smoky, roasted green grains are now giving popular Quinoa a run for its money! They have four times the fiber of brown rice, more protein than pasta and pretty much top all of the other grains in terms of nutrients including calcium, potassium and zinc. They can be used in the preparation of muffins, bread, side dishes, breakfast cereal and a million other recipes that previously have used couscous, rice, pasta or Quinoa. Some people are even saying that Freekeh is gluten free but I would wait until the jury is back in on that if you suffer from Celiac disease or live a gluten free diet.

Tonight I intend on using this incredible grain, which uses one cup of grains to five cups of water and cooks for about 45 minutes. Then I will infuse it with some lightly fried onions, peppers, a lot of cumin and a dash of cinnamon. Any plain Freekeh left over I will use tomorrow morning for breakfast cereal with a lot of fresh fruit and a drizzle of maple syrup. Wow, I may have found the answer to my dreams in that Freekeh is delicious, different and so versatile. And I will make a bet that none of my family will object or try and say “we’re having that again”!  Well I have to go and get dinner started and for some reason as I dance to the kitchen to make dinner I am singing the old Rick James song “She’s a Super Freekeh”, oops that should be “She’s a Super Freak”…I know you have to wonder.

Okay, so I’m at the grocery store looking for something new, something to jump out at me from the shelf and say “make me for dinner”. We don’t eat chicken, fish or steak or any of the other easy standbys and I am tired of pasta, also I’m running out of time before the car pools start.  When I do finally get home there is nothing worse than the family walking in and saying “what’s for dinner”? You know if I knew that, I would make it and whenever I come up with something there are complaints. “We had that last week, I don’t like that or that’s weird”.  So today I found a box of Freekeh pronounced Freekah unlike the other ancient grain called Quinoa that I can never pronounce right. For sure no one can tell me they had this the other day as I have never even heard of it before. So, I buy a box and run home to “google” it to figure out what it is and how to make it.

Freekeh (I know, you have to love the name), originated in 2300 B.C. somewhere in the Eastern Mediterranean. The story goes that there was a siege expected on this particular walled city and so the people picked all the green heads off of the wheat so that they could store it in the event of possible starvation. Well it turns out that they must have forgotten to replace the batteries in their smoke alarms and the buildings that stored their food supply burned to the ground. However, not people to give up, they rubbed the heads off of the smouldering green wheat and Freekeh, meaning “rubbed one,” was born.

The delicious, smoky, roasted green grains are now giving popular Quinoa a run for its money! They have four times the fiber of brown rice, more protein than pasta and pretty much top all of the other grains in terms of nutrients including calcium, potassium and zinc. They can be used in the preparation of muffins, bread, side dishes, breakfast cereal and a million other recipes that previously have used couscous, rice, pasta or Quinoa. Some people are even saying that Freekeh is gluten free but I would wait until the jury is back in on that if you suffer from Celiac disease or live a gluten free diet.

Tonight I intend on using this incredible grain, which uses one cup of grains to five cups of water and cooks for about 45 minutes. Then I will infuse it with some lightly fried onions, peppers, a lot of cumin and a dash of cinnamon. Any plain Freekeh left over I will use tomorrow morning for breakfast cereal with a lot of fresh fruit and a drizzle of maple syrup. Wow, I may have found the answer to my dreams in that Freekeh is delicious, different and so versatile. And I will make a bet that none of my family will object or try and say “we’re having that again”!  Well I have to go and get dinner started and for some reason as I dance to the kitchen to make dinner I am singing the old Rick James song “She’s a Super Freekeh”, oops that should be “She’s a Super Freak”…I know you have to wonder.

Beverley Robb, Homemaker

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

