Skip to content

Very P-Interesting…

March 19, 2012

Pinterest is a website that I have recently discovered and signed up for. This savvy site is an online pinboard where users can pin images that they find most appealing. Essentially, Pinterest is an online vision board where you can motivate yourself, unleash creativity and search for new ideas, products, recipes or designs that you want to implement into your life.

I can honestly say that this website has gotten me hooked. Let me preface by saying: I am not one of those tech people who dwell in their Facebook accounts and love everything that comes with a charger. Sometimes I actually wish technology would stop advancing, cell phones would stop buzzing with texts and we could all hand write letters, read tangible books and spend our extra time conversing face-to-face. I know that the advancement of technology keeps us innovative and betters our lives in some way or another, but I can’t say that I’m not apprehensive about it at times.

However, my love for interactive social websites has been rekindled all thanks to Pinterest.com. This website is pure brilliance, especially for the female population. While it may unintentionally take a good two hours out of my day, I think that it is actually a very positive and motivating tool. These are five reasons why I think that Pinterest is thebomb.com, literally.

Reason Number One: Pinterest will keep you goal oriented.

One day, I want to visit Machu Picchu—pin, run a race—pin, live in a beautiful modern apartment overlooking the city—pin, grow my own garden—pin…

Instead of thinking these things and then forgetting them two seconds later, Pinterest allows you to pin these wishes by associating images with all of these goals. Your mental bucket list can now be transformed into an online vision board.

 Reason Number Two: Pinterest will open you up to new things.

Getting bored of the same dinners? Need some pizzazz in your life? Let Pinterest open you up to a new world of possibilities where nothing is dull and everything is cool, trendy, fun, clever and aesthetically pleasing. Homemade vegan mozerella? Yes please.

Reason Number Three: Pinterest will nurture your creative spirit.

As a young twenty-something year old girl, I am always looking for new ways to save money. On Pinterest, I have learned how to make homemade house cleaners, laundry detergent and other Do-It-Yourself projects. Heck, just the other day I learned how to turn a Clementine into a candle.  Now that’s crafty.

Reason Number Four: Pinterest will teach you savvy lifestyle tips.

I have always hated tangled necklace and bracelet chains with a passion. Might sound petty, but it can be pretty frustrating when you want to wear your favorite necklace and it is weaved inside of a giant ball of knotted metal. With the help of Pinterest, I have learned how to store my necklaces in a more efficient way by looping them through a straw. I consider myself a clever girl, but never in a million years would I have thought about doing something like that.

Reason Number Five: Pinterest will provide you with pictures that will make your day.

Who doesn’t want to see ten squishy Labrador puppies cuddling on top of a pile of blankets? Or an elephant bathing under a waterfall with a smile like expression on her face? Whether you will admit to it or not, these are the images that make your head tilt, your lips pout and your heart melt. You can count on this site to provide a multitude of images that will make you smile, laugh and feel better about your day.

Now go and make yourself a Pinterest account. Pin away!

Kaitlyn Mekertichian, Community Blog Content Editor

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

